A well respected, award winning social enterprise
Volunteer run - Government and charity funded
We help 50,000 people a year through divorce

01202 805020

Lines open: Monday to Friday 9am-5pm
Call for FREE expert advice & service info

Do you need help sorting out a fair financial settlement?

Our consultant service offers expert advice and support to help you reach agreement on a fair financial settlement quickly, and for less than a quarter of the cost of using a traditional high street solicitor.

Spouasal maintenance

  • mrsheen
  • mrsheen's Avatar Posted by
  • New Member
  • New Member
26 Mar 12 #320106 by mrsheen
Topic started by mrsheen
Please help

I need to get an understanding of what my spousal maintenance liabilty might be as it looks like we are now seperating and I have no idea of what I will have to live on...

#We have been married for 5.5 years.
#Age: Me 45 Wife 36
#We have one child age 5
#I will have my child for overnight stays for between 70 - 100 nights per year
#My Basic salary is £67K with approx £7K extra standby payment and I have company car and company pension.
#My Wife earns approx £7.5 -8.5K PA working part time (she has been working for approx 6 months of our marriage)
#We currently share a mortgaged property value £280K with approx £120K outstanding on the Mortgage, I met all mortgage payments.
# I have a second property that I lived in before we met and I am now letting, the value of this is approx £145K and has £130K outstanding on the mortgage, although it is let the rent only covers the mortgage so there is no income from it, infact it is an expense of approx £30 Per month

# I have shares vlaue less than £500
# I have an ISA value ~7K
# I am currently paying child support for a child from a previous relationship of approx £360 Per month

# My wife has a car Value approx £9k
# She has an ISA £7k
# she has 2 other children from her previous relationship that she gets ~£576 per month
# She has a personal pension but I have no idea of the value
# I would guess that she has approx £5k in other savings

Current outgoings for home we share per month
#Mortgage £760 pm
# All other bills ~£390
# Shopping ~£1100 - £1200 per month

Please can someone give me a good estimate of how much beyond child support I would need to pay.

Moderators: wikivorce teamrubytuesdaydukeyhadenoughnowTetsSheziLinda SheridanForsetiMitchumWhiteRoseLostboy67WYSPECIALBubblegum11

The modern, convenient and affordable way to divorce.

No-Fault Divorce £179

We provide the UK's lowest cost no-fault divorce service, managed by a well respected firm of solicitors. 

Online Mediation £250

Online mediation is a convenient and inexpensive way to agree on a fair financial settlement.

Consent Orders from £359

This legally binding agreement defines how assets (e.g. properties and pensions) are to be divided.

Court Support £250

Support for people who have to go to court to get a fair divorce financial settlement without a solicitor.